ETIAS and **ETA**

ETIAS and **ETA** are travel authorisation schemes being implemented for visa-exempt nationals to visit certain European countries. The table below summarises and illustrates similarities and differences between the two schemes. Visa-exempt travellers travelling to the Schengen Area should also note the new scheme EES being implemented before ETIAS.

Further information on the EU schemes (EES and ETIAS) and UK scheme (ETA) as well as official communication resources can be found on ETOA's visas and borders webpage: https://www.etoa.org/operating-in-europe/visas-and-borders/

	ETIAS	ETA
Official website	www.europa.eu/etias	www.gov.uk/electronic-travel- authorisation
Implementing countries	Schengen Area + Cyprus (30 countries) All countries in the EU/EFTA (except Ireland)	United Kingdom (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales)
Applicable to	Visa-exempt third country nationals (non-EU/non-EFTA) visiting for short-stay (90/180 days) Exemptions include British (UK) nationals resident in Ireland before 2021. Third country nationals resident in any of the 30 countries are excluded from the scheme.	Visa-exempt nationals (excluding British/Irish) visiting for short-stay (6 months) i.e. national of a country not on this list Exemption: visa-exempt nationals resident in Ireland (not British/Irish) when travelling to the UK from Ireland or elsewhere in the Common Travel Area (ETA is required when travelling to/transiting the UK from outside the Common Travel Area)
Start date	Not yet in operation (target date mid-2025) Will be applicable to all visa-exempt nationals at the same time from start date. There will be a transition period of at least 6 months from start date whereby ETIAS will not be a requirement as well as a further grace period following the transition period.	In operation for nationals of GCC countries and Jordan (i.e. certain Middle East countries) Start date anticipated for remaining visa-exempt nationals: Autumn 2024 (TBC) – rest of the world (excluding EU/EFTA) e.g. Japan, USA Early 2025 (TBC) for EU/EFTA nationals (excluding Irish)
Cost	€7 per person (person aged under 18 or over 70 at time of application is exempt from paying although still need to apply)	£10 per person (payable by all ages)

ETIAS and **ETA**

	Third country national (of any age) who is a family member of an EU/EFTA national is also exempt from paying but only when travelling to a country that is not of their family member's nationality	
Validity	3 years or until expiration of travel document, whichever is sooner (multiple entries permitted during validity)	2 years or until expiration of travel document, whichever is sooner (multiple entries permitted during validity)
To apply (in advance of travel)	Either via official website or ETIAS mobile app (authorisation linked to travel document i.e. passport) Dual nationals with two third country passports will be required to apply for an ETIAS linked to one of their passports. Applying for an ETIAS for each passport will not be permitted.	Currently only possible to apply for nationals of GCC countries and Jordan Either via official website or ETA mobile app (authorisation linked to travel document i.e. passport)
Air-side transiting	Not required to apply	Required to apply
Application form language	24 (all official <u>EU languages</u>)	1 (English)
Biometric data when applying	Not required as collected by EES	Facial image required if age 10+ applying via mobile app
Third parties permitted to apply on behalf of traveller	Yes (with <u>declaration of representation</u>)	Yes (third party should use official website to apply where the traveller is not present with third party)

Last reviewed: 24 April 2024

Disclaimer: While best efforts have been made to verify the accuracy of the information, the information displayed should be used as guidance only.

©2024 European Tourism Association (ETOA)

